Do Cheetos Have Pork

Do Cheetos Have Pork? All You need To Know

Cheetos is not a stranger for any snack lover. Isn’t it the cheesy soft feel your taste buds experience when you bite one, which makes you finish the whole thing in a moment? If you are a person who is on a diet or has any religious obligation towards eating pork, you must have wondered, do Cheetos have pork? Considering the background of food is also compulsory if you are allergic to some food.

Sometimes we don’t even realize that we have become addicted to the spicy and cheesy flavor of Cheetos. The mere ambition of Frito-Lay (the manufacturer) has been accomplished since it was introduced in 1948.

What To Eat With Biscuits? New Things To Try With Your Tea – Read Here

Do Cheetos Have Pork?

It is important to check the added ingredients for individuals in public who are on a diet plan or for those who follow a specific religious restriction regarding food. Although there is no clear note, many Cheetos products contain pork and derivatives of pork.

Why Must You Know The Ingredients Of Cheetos?

Vegans and vegetarians must be given a proper clarification whether the star in the snack world- Cheetos includes pork or any derivative of pork. 

Health issues are a special occasion where the ingredient check becomes essential. Although uncommon, some individuals also show allergic responses to pork and its by-products.

Pork is haram according to the religious law of Muslims, and it is their right to clear up any doubt about the food they consume.

Jews who follow kosher foods according to their regulations refrain from eating pork. Therefore ethically, there is a responsibility on the side of the manufacturer to reveal whether their snacks are within these social and religious boundaries.

Why Frito-Lay Does Not Mention All The Ingredients In A Product?

To keep the recipe out of the competitors who have kept a foot into the same product line, companies have hidden ingredients in the lists where they generalize the things such as flavors and enzymes, etc. the fact is accepted by federal law.

At the same time, federal law has taken measures to protect the privileges of consumers. It states that food product manufacturers must reveal certain ingredients for food safety reasons and need to mention whether the food is vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, and so on.

After all, on their official website, they have declared that “Animal enzymes that are derived from pork (also called “Porcine enzymes”) are used to develop the cheese in some of our cheese seasonings.

What Are The Ingredients Of Cheetos

  • Wheat flour
  • Enriched corn meal (Corn Meal, Niacin, Riboflavin, Folic Acid, Ferrous Sulphate, Thiamine Mononitrate)
  • Vegetable oil (Canola, Sunflower, or Corn)
  • Whey 
  • Cheddar Cheese [Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes]
  • Maltodextrin [Made from corn]
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Salt
  • Sugar
  • Yeast extract
  • Buttermilk
  • Disodium Inosinate
  • Disodium Guanylate
  • Whey Protein Concentrate
  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
  • Lactic Acid
  • Citric Acid
  • Artificial Colour [Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Yellow 6 Lake, Yellow 40 Lake]

Where Does Pork Include In Cheetos

It is clear that they do not directly indicate pork as an ingredient.

But let’s clarify these “enzymes.”

  • Cheddar cheese, the ingredient that adds the cheesy taste of the product, uses enzymes in the production.
  • Cheese enzymes are both plant and animal-based.

That means they use pork-based enzymes in some of their products. We have a list of snacks published by Frito-Lay that do not use enzymes extracted from pork. Further, they also announced via their website that these conditions apply only to the products distributed in the United States.

  • What products do not use enzymes extracted from pork?

    • Baked Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Cheddar flavored Popcorn
    • Cheddar Jalapeno Flavored Popcorn
    • Crunch Pop Mix Cheese Popcorn and Snack Mix
    • Crunchy Cheddar Jalapeno Flavored Snacks
    • Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Crunchy Flamin’ Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Crunchy Flamin’ Hot Limon Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Crunchy XXTRA Flamin’ Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Flamin’ Hot Flavored Popcorn
    • Flavor Shots Flamin’ Hot Asteroids Flavored Corn Puffs
    • Paws Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Puffs Flamin’ Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Reduced Fat Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Reduced Fat Crunchy Flamin’ Hot Limon Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Reduced Fat Puffs Cheese Flavoured Snacks
    • Reduced Fat Puffs Flamin’ Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Simply Crunchy White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Simply Crunchy White Cheddar Jalapeno Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • Simply Puffs White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks
    • White Cheddar Bites Cheese Flavored Snacks

The company also manufactures several other snacks under many other brands such as Lays’, Fritos’, Doritos, Natuchips, Munchies, Ruffles, etc. 

  • Is Cheetos Halal Or Haram?

Corn meal is the main ingredient in Cheetos. Although corn meal is halal other ingredients may include pork-extracted enzymes or not. The Islamic Council of America has listed Cheetos as not halal. That means Cheetos is a Haram food for Muslims.

  • Is Cheetos Vegetarian?

Yes, But not all of them. The super famous snack brand has introduced a range of Cheetos products that do not contain any animal-based enzymes. We have written the list of items above in this article.

  • Is Cheetos Vegan?

Yes. The company has a collection of products favorable to the vegan community. Currently, the product line is only in the US market.

  • Is Cheetos Kosher?

As mentioned on the official website of Frito-Lay, the company has put forward a line of kosher-friendly products to the US market. But they also announce that the situation may vary in countries at present.


Food companies must be open to the public regarding the ingredients they use because the market needs vary according to the preferences of different individuals. Following this rule, the huge company that owns the famous Cheetos brand has taken scales to print their ingredients.

The company has its range of Cheetos according to the demand from vegans, vegetarians, Muslims, and Jewish people. People who are allergic to certain items also benefit from the above measures. But sadly, still, these varieties of products are only available in the US market at present.

You now know the answer to the question do Cheetos have pork? Along with the reasons and examples we described in this article.

Read More :

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *